Notice: Undefined variable: post in /home/ : eval()'d code on line 9

Notice: Trying to get property 'ID' of non-object in /home/ : eval()'d code on line 9

All about Caribbean Premier League

The Carribean Premier league is a premier T20 competition that takes place in the West Indies every year. The region’s elite cricket tournament, stars from the world of cricket participate annually as they battle it out to become champions of one of sport’s most entertaining competitions.

Here, readers will find out everything they need to know about the Carribean Premier League starting with its inauguration in 2013 and the standout moments that have brought us to the current version.

CPL History – A Decade of Cricket Excellence

With T20 fast becoming a cricket phenomenon throughout the world, the West Indies, a thriving area rich with cricket history, decided to bring the sport to their region in a high-profile manner.

Following years of organisation and financing, the first ever Carribean Premier League took place in 2013 and was won by the Jamaican Tallawahs. 

With the final featuring legendary cricket names such as Chris Gayle and Muttiah Muralitharan, the eyes of the cricketing world were firmly fixed on the Carribean Premier League, and it hasn’t slowed down since its maiden appearance on the stacked cricket calendar.

From 2017 to 2020, the Carribean Premier League was dominated by the Trinbago Knight Riders who collected three titles in four seasons. Helped by the masterful expertise from the likes of Brendan McCullum and Kieron Pollard, the Knight Riders set the standard for all CPL teams to follow.

Guyana Amazon Warriors are the current champions following a successful 2023 campaign and they’ll be well fancied to retain their crown ahead of the next season.

Caribbean Premier League Schedule

Fixtures for the 2024 season are not yet available but the competition will once again be held in Guyana with the final taking place at the famous Providence Stadium, the scene of the last two finals.

Teams and Players – Stars of the Caribbean Stage

Below are the teams who will take part in the 2024 campaign and included is their captain and head coach

Barbados Royals – Rovman Powell (C) – Trevor Penney

Guyana Amazon Warriors – Imran Tahir (C) – Rayon Griffith

Jamaica Tallawahs – Brandon King (C) – Shivnarine Chanderpaul

St Kitts & Nevis Patriots – Evin Lewis (C) – Simon Helmot

Saint Lucia Kings – Faf du Plessis (C) – Daren Sammy

Trinbago Knight Riders – Kieron Pollard (C) – Phil Simmons

The Trinbago Knight Riders are the competition’s most successful team with four titles whilst Johnson Charles is the league’s leading run scorer.

Dwayne Bravo, arguably the league’s greatest ever player, is the format’s leading wicket taker of all time.

Team Rivalries in Caribbean Premier League

Although still seen as a modern league to its tender age, one hot rivalry does exist in the CPL and that is between Trinbago Knight Riders and the Guyana Amazon Warriors. 

In 2018, a Guyanese woman stepped on the flag of Trinidad and Tobago, but it would be the Knight Riders who grabbed the ultimate glory as they were later crowned champions. The victory prompted Dwayne Bravo, the Riders captain at the time, to demand that Guyana show his region respect.

This fixture is undoubtedly the must-see game in any CPL season but the possibility for future rivalries always exists due to the intensity of each fixture.

Key Players

Dwayne Bravo’s contributions to the CPL have been immense. An iconic figure in West Indian cricket due to his contributions in all formats of the game, Bravo has gone all out to help the game in his home region and his talents have been recognised with him being the competitions all-time leading wicket taker.

Johnson Charles’ impact with the bat has been almost as impressive as Bravio has been with the ball. The international star has been a figure of consistency when batting in the CPL and his huge run haul is well-deserved.

Kieron Pollard has been a regular fixture in the tournament and with him at his best, it’s likely he’ll always go far when the tournament gets underway.

Outside of West Indian cricketers, Colin Munro has arguably made the biggest splash. The New Zealand star was the standout performer in 2018 as he helped the Knight Riders to another title.

CPL Seasons and Format – Evolution of Cricket Entertainment

The format for the CPL has largely been the same since day one. Six teams participating before semi-finals and a final. 

With the expansion of white ball cricket in recent years, more players are participating in the version more frequently leading to high scores and records being broken regularly. The entertainment factor is increasing as the sport becomes more popular and such approaches have even started to appear in test cricket with England’s Bazball philosophy, named after Brendon McCullum, showing huge signs of short cricket influences.

Most 100s – Dwayne Smith and Chris Gayle 4

Most 6s – Evan Smith 180

Highest total – 267/2 Trinbago Knight Riders vs. Jamaican Tallawahs, 2019

Impact on West Indian Cricket – Nurturing Talent and Pride

Perhaps the finest cricketing nation of all time, the West Indies successes throughout the 1970s and following decade made them the envy of the sporting world.

Their strategy and ideas were followed by many other cricketing nations and when the time came for the West Indies to further improve, they were left behind. Still a region who adores cricket, plans are constantly in place to develop the sport there and the CPL is a huge factor in nurturing the next generation of West Indian cricketers.

With a sound infrastructure plus leading players passing one experience and wisdom, the hope is that young West Indian cricketers make the most of such opportunities and transfer that form on the international stage when representing their country.

Future Outlook – The Next Chapter of CPL

Now over 10 years old, the CPL looks like it’s here to stay and play a huge part on the congested cricket schedule. In terms of getting new eyes on the sport, cricket organisers all around the world are relying on the shorter format of the sport and the CPL is doing it as well as anyone.

The world’s leading cricketers have already made an impact in the West Indies through the CPL and if the league can continue to attract huge names, then the following should continue to grow benefiting all who partake and watch.

Share this article

Table Of Contents

Read more of our articles


Emirates Stadium Arsenal

The Emirates is perhaps a bittersweet symbol for Arsenal. The club’s Premier League dominance ended when Arsene Wenger was in charge and decamped from Highbury to the new, modern surroundings. Since their move to the Emirates, Arsenal have not won the Premier League trophy – but perhaps that will all change under Mikel Arteta this […]
March 26, 2024
Read more

Maracana Fluminense FC

The Maracana is one of the most culturally and historically important football stadiums in the world, and as it plays host to Fluminense, it has become entwined with the history of the club. Maracana Fluminense FC History – A Journey Through Time The stadium was built to host the 1950 World Cup, with construction starting […]
March 23, 2024
Read more

Aston Martin Aramco Cognizant F1 Team 2024

After more than 60 years out of the Formula One space, the Aston Martin Racing Team came back with a bang in 2021, with Canadian billionaire Lawrence Stroll financing an entirely new project.  Since returning to the F1 landscape, they have been developing at light speed, and last year registered 280 points in the Contructor’s […]
February 25, 2024
Read more
See all

Select Language

Table Of Contents

This site is registered on as a development site. Switch to a production site key to remove this banner.